Home | Sport | ECB stick with tradition for Ashes venues

ECB stick with tradition for Ashes venues

THE England and Wales Cricket Board has awarded the 2023 Ashes Tests between England and Australia to the same five grounds as the 2019 edition.

Edgbaston, Headingley, The Oval, Lord’s and Manchester’s Old Trafford have all got the nod as the grounds to be used in five years’ time.

The Ageas Bowl in Southampton was widely expected to be named as one of the five hosts, but it joins the SWALEC Stadium in Cardiff and Nottinghamshire’s Trent Bridge as the conspicuous absentees.

Trent Bridge will host Test matches in 2020, 2021, 2022 and 2024 but will not stage an Ashes Test in either of the next two series.

Trent Bridge will, however, take over from Lord’s as the venue for the domestic One-Day Cup final from 2020, the ECB has confirmed.

Gloucestershire, Durham, Glamorgan and Hampshire will all host England one-day internationals at their grounds throughout the five-year period, with the latter two also set to stage T20 internationals.

Click here to Read from the source


Check Also

VRC gallops on to global scene

THE Victoria Racing Club plans to broaden its international footprint — and not only through ...